Looking for some Goose Information

Discussion in 'Geese' started by shaylabailey, Jun 10, 2011.

1. shaylabailey

shaylabailey Out Of The Brooder

Jun 2, 2011
    Rhode Island
    Hello;
    I'm a little interested in geese and may want one or two (most likely a pair) in a couple of months. I don't plan on looking until my ducks are grown but geese intrigue me and I was wondering what breed is good with ducks, friendly with people, and nice to look at. [​IMG]
    I've never had geese before so I'm completely new to this.
    Thanks! [​IMG]

2. Eroc1_1

Eroc1_1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2011
    Quote:We are in the same boat. I/we have decided that we will try Pilgrims and Sebastopol Geese. Pilgrims are supposed to be docile, calmer, and friendly.

3. aineheartsyou

aineheartsyou Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2009
    Dixie, WA
    i currently have a pair of embdens and they are such goofballs! i specifically raised them with my ducklings so they could be guardians to the ducks. they are very friendly and are always curious about what i am doing. they will follow me around if i am working outside and if i am in the house they will either sit on the deck under my kitchen window and talk to me or if they havent heard me in a while will sit at the door and "knock" until i come talk to them. i am expecting a pair of american geese this coming week and they will also be raised with ducklings [​IMG] i have heard americans, sebbies and pilgrims are all very calm. OH i will be getting shetland geese next year, i have heard wonderful things about them as well! imo if you want them to be friendly with ducks you should raise them with ducks [​IMG]

4. jojo@rolling acres farm

[email protected] acres farm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2009
    Nebraska