Looking to start raising chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Barnesfarm, Dec 29, 2014.

1. Barnesfarm

Barnesfarm New Egg

Dec 29, 2014
    Hello

I'm new at chicken knowledge.... I'm looking at good ways to make a cheap coop on the side of a little shed I have. I am not sure what I want to raise just yet. I'm looking for all the insight I can get. I'm deployed right now but as soon as I get home in a couple months I would love to get started.. Thank you any help welcomed!!

2. SkyWorld

SkyWorld Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2014
    I did my coop on the cheep, because my DH wasn't to keen on the idea of chickens in the backyard. If you have someone who can help you to start collecting wood boards, cabinet doors, windows, concrete blocks, bookcase anything that you can get for free that would work for your coop idea. Explore the coop designs and get an idea of how many chickens you want then make the coop bigger. I have six chickens and my coop is just big enough at 3 feet by 4 feet and 4 feet high. I wish I had made it a bit bigger.[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Have fun and post pictures.[​IMG] P.S. My DH loves the girls and spoils them more than I do.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2014
  3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana