looking to try broilers in the spring

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by SAHMof2, Jan 30, 2011.

1. SAHMof2

SAHMof2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2010
    Hi all. I have 8 RSL and have been enjoying them for nearly a year. I have three acres in southern Alberta and am thinking I'd like to try my own broilers for the fall. Going price around here for natural birds is $3.50 lbs (yikes). So I figured I'd try to raise my own from chicks, something I've never done before as I purchased my RSL at 19 weeks.

I've got some questions if you don't mind ...

1. Is this going to be more difficult then I think? I figure I've already got the coop, run and extended outdoor living area so why not add more chickens and save some money all the while striving for self sustainability.

2. Would a tractor work best for keeping the chicks safe from the mature RSL? Any ideas on how to best utilize my existing set up until the chicks are large enough to integrate?

3. The coop is only 5x5 but in the spring, summer and fall they are hardly in there and I can always add roosts vertically to create more real estate.

4. Am I correct in thinking that a broiler can be raised from spring and butchered in the fall (appx. 90 days)?

5. Greedily thinking a turkey or two as well. High hopes???

Thanks for your time and advice in advance.

2. OkChickens

OkChickens Orpingtons Are Us

Dec 1, 2010
    Owasso, Oklahoma
    I am expecting 50+ broilers and 100+ RSL on February 10. For my 50 broilers they will have a 10x15 space but will spend the first week in a 5x10 space with 2 heat lamps on 24/7 about 18 inches off the ground then raise them after a week. I will feed my birds gamebird starter and grower with 22-23% protein crumbles. If you get meat birds you need to restrict there feed consumption from 6pm to 7am to keep them from eating and growing to fast causing them to die. Make sure have plenty of water all the time!

-Nate

3. patandchickens