loosing chicks fast :(

Discussion in 'Quail' started by TriciaB, Jan 12, 2014.

1. TriciaB

TriciaB Out Of The Brooder

Sep 10, 2012
    lincolnton, NC
    9 coturnix chicks and 11 bobwhite chicks hatched out. Coturnix chicks are 2 weeks old, bobwhites are 1 week old.
    I have lost 7 coturnix chicks and 4 bobwhite chicks! The tempature under the light is 96 degrees F, unlimited access to ground crumble food and water. Bedding is spruce covered completely with newspaper. No huddling under the light and no staying on unlighted side.
    What is going on?? They all Look healthy and are running around.

2. SeptemberQuail

SeptemberQuail Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2012
    Australia
    I'm no expert, but factors could include not enough ventilation, eating at the spruce, drowning in the water, or even the fact that the eggs were bad eggs. Other times chicks can drop dead and no one knows why.

I honestly can't really tell why, but I hope you do come to a conclusion.

3. dc3085

dc3085 Chillin' With My Peeps

You need to give some more information. How are the ones that died acting just before hand? Do any of them have crusty eyes? Are their butts clogged with poop? Can you take a picture of where you are keeping them? maybe something in the environment is causing it. Also with the news paper over spruce shaving is the bedding dry everywhere or is wet in places?

edit to add

I would take the shavings and new paper out and keep them on an old towel for a couple days. Dont' worry it will wash out when your done. The towel better allows you to see their feces and that might offer a clue as to what is wrong with them.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop