Lord help me, I'm a chicken farmer.

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tamsenita, Jul 20, 2010.

1. tamsenita

tamsenita Hatching

Jul 20, 2010
    Hello all!

My guy and I have just moved from Las Vegas to the middle of rural Oklahoma. I'm excited about my garden and decided that I'd like some chickens as well. I've got a couple of books I've been reading through, have a nice little area with a chicken coop, and have just finished the brooder. Just placed my first order for baby chickens, and have a few questions for the experienced pros =].

1) What do you really wish you'd known or wish someone would have told you when you first started out?
    2) I've purchased Dominiques - are they a pretty easy-going kind of bird, temperament-wise? Any thoughts about them as a breed?

Thanks all! I appreciate all the info I've already gotten from this site.

Sincerely,

Tamsen

2. Amyable

Amyable Songster 9 Years

Dec 16, 2008
    Greenleaf, WI
    [​IMG] from WI!

Vegas to Oklahoma, that's quite the scenery change [​IMG] I've heard good things about Doms, would like some myself someday.

Hmm, I wish someone would have told me how tricky it can be to regulate brooder temp with a heat lamp, my poor chicks were panting one day, chilly the next [​IMG] I also wasn't prepared for their antics - chickens are great! Good luck with your flock!!

3. Mother of All

Mother of All Songster

May 3, 2010
    Millbrook
    I have a couple of Dominique's, they are just starting to lay but so far I have enjoyed having they in my flock. They do like to fly so make sure when the time come you clip there wings if you are going to want them to free range but stay with in a fenced area. enjoy and have fun. [​IMG]

4. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Songster

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR