Loss of feathers, tucking head

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bgpacker, Apr 28, 2011.

1. bgpacker

bgpacker New Egg

Apr 28, 2011
    I'm new to the chicken world so I have lots of questions. But right now I have a sick 10 week old black australorpe pullet. She tucks her head under toward her belly and then backs herself up in a corner. I noticed this 2 days ago and have now seperated her from the rest of the flock. Now she has pulled all the feather out of her belly and her neck. I also noticed that she has a "blister" between her neck and her right wing. She is eating and drinking and has solid poops. Also she seems to be blind. She doesn't acknowledge me until she hears me step toward her. I have used my hand to tap toward her eyes without a blink. I have some pics and will try to post them when I figure out how. She is eating purina start and grow nonmedicated feed as she was vaccinated for coccidia and mereck's disease from the hatchery. None of the other birds have shown any signs of this. What could it be and how do I treat it? Thanks [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  2. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    This blister- is it filled with fluid or air?

3. bgpacker

bgpacker New Egg

Apr 28, 2011
    Its hard to tell, but it appears to be air. Its a bad pic! Sorry!
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  4. bgpacker

bgpacker New Egg

Apr 28, 2011
    Here are some of the other pics.

This is what she started doing.
    [​IMG]

Now she's pulled all the feathers out of her neck and belly.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009