Lost 1st chicken to a dog!!!!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Darin115, Jun 25, 2008.

1. Darin115

Darin115 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2008
    Asheboro, NC
    I have been raising chickens for 2 years now. I have never lost a chicken to a dog. Today I have 2 sick black sexlinks.

I seperated them into a box. I go back outside to make sure everything si ok with my 2 black rose combs. My neighbors dog must have escaped. He had the rooster in his mouth heading home. I hollered and he dropped him. I headed to get the shotgun. The neighbor must have seen it so he comes running with his 6 year old little girl.
    I go meet him in the yard. The rooster is not quiet dead. I finish hte rooster off and head to get a shovel. He is appologizing and asking how much he owes me. His little girl is upset.

I start looking for my hen. She is no where to be found. I see feathers all over the yard. 30 minutes later I find her in some tall grass. She is sitting motionless. I pick her up and put her back in the coop.

The guy asks me if I want to kill this dog. His little girl says no daddy. I can't kill her dog. He said he opened the door to feed him and he bolted out. It was like 30 seconds and he had my rooster.

He insists on paying me. He is unemployed and his wife is a nurse. I hate to take money from them knowing things are tight at their house.

What would you do? Call it a loss or take his money??

Darin

2. Nuggetsowner:)

Nuggetsowner:) Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2007
    Minnesota
    Do what you feel in your heart. Sometimes bad things happen and you just have to say it was an accident. HOWEVER, does his dog bolt over often. Maybe you could suggest a leash to keep his dog in check.

3. Nuggetsowner:)

Nuggetsowner:) Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2007
    Minnesota
    I just wanted to add how sorry I am for your loss. It must be heart breaking.

4. Solsken Farm

Solsken Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

I am so sorry. How awful.