lost 2 in one week :(

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by zoespaartin, Sep 27, 2010.

1. zoespaartin

zoespaartin Out Of The Brooder

Jan 21, 2010
    This is my first year raising chickens. It has been great, except for a few really sad times. We started out with 14 chicks at the end of Feb. One died the night we got her. The others grew well and healthy. When they were a couple months old we started letting them free range and one day we lost a pullet and a rooster. I wasn't too sad about the rooster, but the pullet was a beautiful dark brahma. I don't know what happened to them because I didn't find anything in the way or carnage. Then we lost a black star roo to a freak accident (a piece of lumber fell on him - weird, and sad - he was actually really nice).

A month or so later we lost Emma, our dark Americana. I was pretty distraught. Then we had a great run and no deaths until 1 week ago. We lost Baby (my little daughter's chicken) at the beginning of the week (the hardest loss so far) and then Flo (a black star) a couple days later. I am sick of it! I lost 2 great layers and Baby was so special to us! It just breaks my heart. We don't have an enclosed run right now, and my husband doesn't want to build one yet because we are buying a house in a couple weeks. I made him promise that he would build one IMMEDIATELY upon moving in.

I don't know what to do for my poor little flock. I am scared to let them outside because I don't know what is getting them. I found Baby's feathers, but nothing else, and I didn't find any sign of Flo. I have started keeping them cooped up most of the day and only letting them out for a couple hours in the afternoon. I feel like a horrible mom for doing that, but I just don't want to lose any more! What is eating my babies?!

2. Dora'smom

Dora'smom Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2009
    Oregon