1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Lost 3 chickens in a week... HELP

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by GaskinsFarm, Aug 8, 2013.

1. GaskinsFarm

GaskinsFarm New Egg

May 1, 2013
    Hi! I am new to owning chickens, we actually started back in April when my friend gave us 5 adult hens. We have them in a large pen 20' by 20' with a attached coop. We added 4 more a couple weeks later and have raised 5 from chicks. We just started having problems this week. When the boys went out there to feed them on Sunday we could not find Mrs. Yellow one of our young chickens we got in May, my husband went out later and found her dead half way buried in the chicken coop??? We could not figure this out it did not look like a animal had been in there and her body was intact just buried, Can chickens do this to each other??? Then the following day we found our newest chick (Fancy, 2 months old) dead and today we found Bawck dead who was a little older than Fancy, None of them were sick and Fancy and Bawck were in a separate area than Mrs. Yellow.. I do not want to lose any more, I don't know what is causing this, Could it be the heat?? I live in Florida and it has been in the 90's all week? I have made sure they have plenty of water and they can get in their coop for shade.. Any Help would be much appreciated..

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia