Lost 6 out of the 7 that just hatched!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Alphabetcoop, Apr 12, 2012.

1. Alphabetcoop

Alphabetcoop Out Of The Brooder

Apr 12, 2012
    Central Vermont
    I'm new to raising chickens, but am baffled by what happened to my chicks last night. All were fine. All were eating, drinking at about two days old. Suddenly, as I'm watching the littlest, the only bantam kicked over the water (not unusual) and fell over backwards, straightening both legs. Wings were outstretched too, eyes closed and panting. Within minutes it died. Three more chicks died the same way within the next 10 minutes. I freaked. Pulled all chicks out, changed the bedding thinking there was some sort of contamination there. I replaced the shredded paper with pine shavings and place the last three surviving chicks back in the box. Within the next half hour, two more passed in the same manner. I went to bed thinking if the last chick survives, I'll get more, if it doesn't I'm selling my coop. The chick has survived. "Lucky" is doing well, eating, and drinking and now cuddles with a chocolate lab stuffed animal. It woke me up at 2am screaming, I thought to die, but he was well and just lonely! I can't figure out what I did wrong, but I think one of the below 3 things happened. They hatched on Mon. and Tues. Last one out early morn. Wen.

1. My propane oven leaks and the chicks got a waft of bad air. They're in a box up on a desk with a stand up light over them in a room next to the kitchen. The top of the box is open. There is an oven liner in the bottom that is a sheet of that teflon type stuff. When preheating the oven, there is often a smell that we do notice that makes you think something is burning in there. Perhaps, that sheet off gassed or something. We had a pizza in the oven cooking.