Lost a chick today :-(

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Dutchmen1122, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Dutchmen1122

Dutchmen1122 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2013
    Hello,

I am new to raising chicks. I just brought home 36 day olds on Mon. 3-18-13. All seemed to be going well until today Wed. when I found one chick dead. I think another is not doing well either. The brooder is at 90 degrees there is chick crumble on a paper plate and in the feeder and I used a chick starter in the water and read the packaging carefully I am using pine shavings for bedding. I am doing every thing according to readings. What is the norm for chick mortality?

2. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    Did you get them shipped to you or did you buy them somewhere?

3. Dutchmen1122

Mar 7, 2013
    They were delivered to the feed store I ordered them from. Strait from the hatchery I know they have three days of yoke in them so today they are living on the water and feed I give them.

4. Dutchmen1122

Mar 7, 2013
    Lost 5 more I think they are the Buff Orpingtons sad the rest seem ok running pecking doing the chick thing. Any suggestions from the wise ones on this site.

5. CourtsCacklers

CourtsCacklers Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2013
    Northern Ohio
    My Coop