Lost a hen and three of her babies

LocoPollo

Songster
Aug 13, 2008
Ellijay, GA
Hey all, I am new to raising chickens, although I am totally addicted now I think! Anyway, the other week I went to feed my chickens and when I called them, two little babies (6 weeks old) came out of the brush, then from another direction came another, then from another direction came the rooster and my other hen with her two babies. They are all normally together. Missing were my other hen and her other three 6 week old babies. I have had no other losses ever, and thought it was odd that a hen and three babies would be lost in one shot. There were no feathers anywhere nor any dead chickens anywhere. Do yall think an animal did this? or did someone come by? (I dont live on the property where the chickens are)

welcome-byc.gif

Do they have any peck or teeth marks in them?

No, the hen and her babies just disappeared. No trace of them at all. Her other babies that remained all look healthy and fine. If it were an animal I would think only one bird would be lost, but 4 makes me wonder.

I know coyotes can travel in packs. Dogs also. Mother racoons teach their babies to hunt. It might be more than one preditor.
Also if it was one animal killing for food it might have taken the mother or the babies. If killing for pleasure it would have caught everything it could.
I am sorry for your loss.

Just thinking out loud here... Could your hen be in the woods or bushes setting on a new group of eggs?

Maybe the chicks that came home are individuals and do not feel they have to be close to Mum Hen and the remaining feel as though they need to be near a broody hen?

As for the new Hen/Roo/Chicks, they could have wonder off from their home and found yours?

Before DH & I began to think about owning chickens, a group of Bandy Chickens moved in our neighborhood. Although we live in a subdivision, the house are on large lots, thd 2 roo and about 6 or so hens thought we looked inviting.