Lost my first chicken, now hens and rooster won't go into the coop

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lapound, Aug 19, 2013.

1. lapound

lapound New Egg

Dec 3, 2012
    Kelly, NC
    This is my first time raising chickens and my girls are between 5-6 months old.

Saturday morning I went to let the chickens out (they free range on our 2 acres) and I found one dead hen in the coop. Something had taken her head off. We figure it was maybe a raccoon or possum reached in (we converted 2 old dog kennels that were on the property when we bought it to a coop. The welping box serves as a nesting box area but they all sleep in there) and grabbed her off the roost and was only able to pull her head through the fence. We are working on a new coop for them and will be done in about 1-2 weeks. We have set traps to try and catch the predator but nothing yet.
    My question is this, since this has happened, my hens and rooster do NOT want anything to do with the coop. At dusk they normally would go in on their own and we would close up the coop before night. Now, they roost in trees out in the front of my house (coop is in the backyard, at the other end of property). Do they feel the coop is unsafe? I was going to replace the old coop with the new one but we wonder if maybe we should move the coop location? The new coop will serve them much better because it's actually a chicken coop, not something converted to a coop. We think it's strange that they all of a sudden they have started this new behavior, however, maybe Wednesday of last week, 2 of my hens started started sleeping on the roost in the enclosed part of the coop so maybe they want to roost at night.
    We feel awful that this happened but whatever did this did not get inside the coop, they grabbed her from the outside, so we know the existing coop is somewhat safe (we did move the roost away from exterior fence) until they get their new nicer one. I appreciate any insight. Thanks!