1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Lost my sweet girl

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by A-TeamMama, Aug 30, 2015.

1. A-TeamMama

A-TeamMama Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2015
    South Dakota
    My heart is heavy. I'm new to chicken keeping. I bought 7 chickens in March. My 5 year old is a big animal lover and I chose a bantam for her. She named her little bantam Diamond Sweet Pea. We later found out, as she grew that she was a speckled Sussex. She was the first to lay eggs. My kids held held her daily.
    Today after church I couldn't find her in her yard. It was worrisome, but shes my escape artist so I wasn't too alarmed. I trained my girls to come when I call" chicky chick, here chicky chick" so I expected to walk around our 3 acres calling her and have her come a running...but nothing. As soon as the sun sets my girls always find their roost in the coop. So several searchs later, the sun set, still no Diamond. I love my girls. I can't believe how much I love them. They are my stress relief, my excitement, my quiet joy. And my heart hurts. I plan to tell my kids tomorrow after school. I don't even know where Diamond is, or what happened. I feel like not knowing is worst.
    Anyway, I'm just so sad, thought I'd write about it. [​IMG]

2. trailrider330

trailrider330 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013
    Midwest America
    Sorry to hear that Diamond didn't come home tonight.