lost one of my free rangers

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by marypcoleman, Oct 30, 2016.

1. marypcoleman

marypcoleman Out Of The Brooder

Feb 14, 2016
    This is my first year of raising hens. I chose to free range. They come to the coop at night to roost and I lock them in and open in am I have a well protected small run that I leave open which is attached to the small door of the coop . I leave both open. I have five acres but they do not seem to go very far past the mowed acre or so in my back ...My white Foghorn did not return from an afternoon of foraging. The other 3 did. I kept them in the run for three days to break the cycle of the predator hopefully. Now, I worry all the time they are out. They move so fast and I lose sight of them all the time...Will I get over this sometime soon?

2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

My condolences on your loss. I know it must be especially difficult since you have a small group.

I also choose to free range my chickens, and have lost some to predators. I can't say that the anxiety around predator attacks lessens, but you learn to live with it. It's a trade-off, IMO: the risk of predation for chickens getting to express their "chicken-ness" (a la Salatin). Hopefully, your chickens are more predator-savvy now and you won't suffer any additional losses.

3. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Mine are also free range, I think they live a more happy and fulfilled life that way. The trade off is occasionally I lose some to predators. I get really stressed when it happens, and we do what we can to stop it. Eventually you stop worrying until it happens again.