Lost our First Chicken

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by WooHoo451, Jul 25, 2013.

1. WooHoo451

WooHoo451 Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2013
    We lost our first chicken last night, so I am trying to figure out what did it and how to prevent it. This is my first year raising chickens, so I am very new to this. The attack happened around 10:30 - 11 at night, right before I was going to close the door to the coop for the night. There were a lot of the down feathers in the coop and no chickens, so I gathered up as many as I could and noticed I was missing one. I haven't given up hope on her, but I am also realistic in thinking she isn't coming back. I think it's a fox, but I did hear coyotes that same night. I figured there would be more of a mess if it was a coyote though. Any thoughts on if it was a fox, and if so what to do to stop it? For now I'll just make sure I lock them up a bit sooner.

2. Sjisty

Sjisty Scribe of Brahmalot

May 18, 2009
    Brooksville
    Sorry for your loss. I have lost chickens to both a fox and coyotes in the past. Each time it was snatch and run, so there wasn't anything left behind but a few feathers. The fox attack, lost 7 chickens in 2 days during daylight hours, was very sneaky and if I hadn't seen him myself I would have never known what got them. In that case, all the chickens were vocalizing and all the squirrels in the trees (and we have hundreds) were chattering. The coyote attack was faster and therefore quieter, also in broad daylight.

On the other hand, I had a problem with the neighbor's dogs for a while. They left the dead chickens behind, only taking enjoyment in the chase.

Your best bet is to lock them up earlier. They should be putting themselves to bed around dark, so you can close the door much earlier. They are helpless in the dark and can't even run from an attack they can't see.

Good luck!

3. WooHoo451

May 18, 2013