Lovin' my babies!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tiny529, Jun 23, 2011.

1. tiny529

tiny529 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2011
    Hi! I'm new to chickens, but I just got my first batch of 6 girlies (at least I hope that they are all girlies!) on Tuesday. So far, so good! They are only 4 days old, but I can already see little personalities emerging. My 6 are Bertha the Light Brahma, Lucy the Dominque, Susie the Sussex, Buffy the Buff Orpington, and Trixie and Dixie the Easter Eggers.

I was wondering... Does the pecking order show this early? Everyone seems to get along fine, but I'm definitely noticing some more dominant personalities. My Light Brahma is the peckiest, usually going specifically for my lighter Easter Egger's eyes, but she's the one who runs away first when my hand enters the corral. My Dominque is by far the sassiest and is the only one who never seems to run from anything new. She tries to climb up my arm whenever I put my hand in the corral. All of the others seem somewhere in between.

Another question... At what age should I start covering my corral? I'm using 24" single ply corrugated roll, doubled up for strength. I already had to remove the bucket portion of my chick feeder since my Dominque kept trying to jump inside and I didn't figure she'd be able to get out once she did!

Last edited: Jun 24, 2011
  2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    [​IMG] and congrats on your new chicks.

The pecking order starts from day one in the brooder together. By six weeks or so, they should have it all sorted out.

Every chick is different, but I always had escapees from the brooder around two weeks old; like these two brahma girls:

[​IMG]

Those two girls are now 3+ years old. Back then they could fly up on that draft guard (about 2 ft. high). Nowadays they are so big I'm not sure they could jump 6 inches.

3. Cadjien_De_Louisiane

Cadjien_De_Louisiane SWLA Gamefowl Breeder

Apr 18, 2011