1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Loving being a chicken mama

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by henrietta77, Apr 22, 2018.

1. henrietta77

henrietta77 In the Brooder

Apr 22, 2018
    Napa, CA
    I am fairly new to chickens. My ex husband and I have raised a few flocks over the years, but this year's crop are the best! I got the itch last November when we went to the feed store and saw all the day old chicks. I decided to buy three and bring them home as a present for my kids. Well, when my ex saw the three lonely chicks in their box with heat lamp, he quickly went back and got 14 more, logically, since it costs so much to keep the heat lamp going you might as well!

We raised them with so much hands on love and care that they are the happiest and easiest to handle chickens we have ever had. We have Sicilian Buttercups, Wyandotte, Americaunas, and one or two other breeds. They laid their first egg (picture below of tiny egg) on Easter. Now we are getting about 8 eggs a day. (Oh, we ended up with 2 roosters.)

Came here today because one laid a very gelatinous, soft egg yesterday and I was worried. Looks like that may be fairly normal for chickens who are just getting started, right? They are on laying mash.

Oh shoot. I can't seem to post pics. I will try later.

I also have 2 dogs, a cat, and 5 goats.

2. Joeschooks

Joeschooks Free Ranging

Feb 7, 2018
    Hampshire, UK
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! There’s so many helpful, knowledgeable folks here and I’m sure you’ll find this site a very useful resource. I wouldn’t be concerned about the shell-less egg. It’s very common with POL pullets. It’s only a concern if if an adult starts repeatedly laying them :thumbsup

3. rkapfen

rkapfen Chirping

Feb 22, 2018
    Bay Area, CA