1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Loving my "Ladies"!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by trirealtoramy, Mar 21, 2016.

1. trirealtoramy

trirealtoramy Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2016
    Virginia
    Hello everyone! Im new to this world of "all things chickens" and am loving it! I am currently in a rental program with coop and chickens. Now that we have tried it out we want to keep our lovely ladies. Im a little chicken obsessed. I need to find a new coop for them and have no idea where to start. My rental is up end of the month. We live on 2 acres and back up to woods so predators are an issue. When people have "dirt floors" are the burying hardware cloth?

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC. As for chicken pens and protection: hardware cloth pens and tops, a skirt around the outside, electric fencing around the pens for a near fool proof predator protection.

1 person likes this.
  3. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] glad you have joined us and congrats on your decision to get your own flock.

IMO it would be difficult to "rent" and have to return those sweeties after you get to know them.

Do explore the coops section. First decide how many you want or can manage, pick breeds that can be happy in confinement and build "Fort Knox". The All-in One type of coop/run offers comfort and protection, just make sure to think more room than you think so you won't need to add on. I built one like the Wichita Cabin Coop - love the design, but enlarged the run area when my gals were grown.

Explore the forums, feel free to post questions. You will find folks here happy to help.

4. trirealtoramy

trirealtoramy Out Of The Brooder