Lump found under earlobe area

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lrowe, Jan 19, 2009.

1. lrowe

lrowe Out Of The Brooder

Jan 19, 2009
    I am new to chick raising. My 15 girls are 7 months old, laying and happy. They have a walk in coop with plenty of room and have a large free range area. I just noticed today, one of my girls has a red lump on her right side of her neck just below the ear area. Any ideas??? I have been searching all of the illness and disorders bur can't find anything. No coughing, sneezing, or other problems. Eyes are bright, eating and drinking.

2. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    If she is missing feathers from the area it may just be that someone is picking on her. Then some blue coat or red pepper sauce applied to area would work.

Is it swollen and hot? How large? Is it hard or soft?

3. lrowe

lrowe Out Of The Brooder

Jan 19, 2009
    [​IMG][/img]

[​IMG][/img]

Here are pics of the right lump side and left normal side. The lump is not hot. It is soft.

4. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    In that case I would isolate her from the rest of your chickens.

5. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    It is very hard to say what it is, but it looks like an infection to me. But you say it is not hot? IMO I would isolate her and watch her. If she shows anymore signs within the next 24 hours there might be a clue to what is wrong.

Could she have gotten bitten by a bee? Or other insect? That happened to one of my roos once and it was swollen for a few days. Boy was I worried too. It did go down though eventually.

Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  6. dottie1111

dottie1111 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 19, 2009
    california