Lymphoid Leukosis... Thoughts and experiences please

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by spiderlady, Dec 28, 2016.

1. spiderlady

spiderlady Out Of The Brooder

Jan 23, 2012
    North Pole, Alaska
    Ive been losing birds here and there for two years now (since I first got chickens in spring 2015). I had thought Mareks the culprit and have done a lot of research on that disease and the possibility of breeding for resistence etc. However I finally found a vet who would do a necropsy for me for free (instead of charging a fortune) and he determined that it is more likely Lyphoid leukosis. SO. I dont know tons about it as Im starting over now in my frenzied research (lol), but one of the things I read is that it can be passed vertically from hens to the eggs and even genetically through egg and sperm.

So Im wondering is breeding for resistence still feasible for this disease, and if so, how would you go about it? I am down to a few hens and one roo, and these all seem healthy survivors who have never been sick as far as I can tell, but they have been with the sickies so are they carriers? Would they pass the virus to eggs (even if raised separately) even though they are not stick? If I choose not to cull and startover (the surest bet at this point) should I incubate and introduce or see if I can get a broody to hatch some? These are the questions floating around in my head today!!

I hate the idea of trying again to introduce older chicks that Ive raised for several months and then watching them die one by one....

Ugh. If anyone has any actual experience with or knowledge of this disease, I would love to hear it. I may still cull all,or just wait a year or so and see if they die, but I would like to know if breeding for resistence can be done.

2. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains