Magician with question about performing with chickens!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by BradleyRobert, Apr 12, 2012.

1. BradleyRobert

BradleyRobert New Egg

Apr 12, 2012
    Hi all -

I've been a professional performer and magician for years. I'm considering adding a chicken production to my act (my family and I have also wanted chickens as pets for years!).

Don't worry - the production box is roomy, safe and comfy. The safety, security and comfort of the chickens are my primary consideration!

My question is about timing. I perform a weekly show at 9:30 PM. The chicken would be produced shortly after I go on stage, and then (preferably) sit comfortably on the side of the stage for several minutes, until she is needed for a "mind reading" effect.

Will being awake/woken up this late stress the chicken? (There will be gentle training for a few months to work up to the issues of being on stage - noise, lights, etc.) I want my girl to be safe and comfortable, but also not sound asleep while I need her to work!

After the effects, she could either sit and relax on stage or I can move her backstage. She will then ride home after the show and be back in the coop around midnight.

I haven't gotten the chicken(s) yet because I want to make sure it's the right thing for them. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
    Bradley

2. zookeeper15133

zookeeper15133 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2010
    SW PA
    If you built their coop without windows and used artificial light to change their day/night cycle it should be ok. Let them out in the run after their artificial night is over and put them back before real night starts.

Anybody else?

3. BradleyRobert

BradleyRobert New Egg

Apr 12, 2012