MAJOR COTURNIX HELP NEEDED MAY DIE!

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Coturnix Quail, Oct 8, 2016.

1. Coturnix Quail

Coturnix Quail Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2016
    OK SO FIRST OFF THIS IS MY FIRST TIME RAISING QUAIL. I HAVE MY TAME ONE AND A FEW OTHERS SEPERATE BECAUSE IT WAS HAED TO FIND MY TAME ONE OUT OF 42 OTHER QUAIL. SO OONE DAY I CHECKED AND SOME KIND OF PREDATOR, PROBABLY A FOX, CAME AND ATE 2 OUT OF THE CAGE. LUCKILY IT DIDNY GET MY TAME ONE. BUT NOW MY TAME ONE ISNT TE ANYMORE SO HOW DO I GET IT TO TRUST ME AGAIN? SECOND OFF, WE TOOK THE ONES IN THE CO-OP INTO A FRW DOG CAGES, AND WERE GOING TO PLACE THEM IN THE GARAGE JUST IN CASE THE PREDATOR CAME AGAIN. SO AS WE WERE PUTTING THEM IN WE HAD A "REHABILITATION CAGE" ALSO CONTAINING MY TAME (NOT SO TAME) QUAIL IN IT. THEN WE FOUND A FEW FRIEBDLY ONES, AND ALSO PUT THOSE IN THERE TOO, BUT ONE WAS EXTREMELY PECKED AT IT WAS ALMOST BLEEDING. FURTHER INSPECTION AND I FOUND THAT THERR WAS ANOTHER LAYER OF SKIN BEFORE THAT THAT HAD BEEN PULLED. I LEFT IT THERE WITH THE OTHER S LASF NIGHT AND RIGHT NIW ITS SITTING THERE WITH ITS EYES CLOSED. PLEASE HELP ME WHAT DO I DO IVE ALREADY HAVE ENOUGH QUAILS DIE!!:hit

2. Binki

Binki Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2015
    Ontario, Canada
    How old are your quail now?

Was the hurt one a male?

Quail get spooked after a predator scare... Give her time and hopefully she will feel safe again.

You need to keep the injured bird warm and by itself until it heals. Give it privacy once it has what it needs.

For outdoor quail, wire cages and chicken wire isn't enough - predators can either reach through or bite through. Hardware cloth is predator proof and 1/4" will keep even mice and tiny snakes out. You need to build them a more secure cage to avoid this from happening again - a predator could possibly come in the daytime as well.

Hope your hurt quail is okay!

3. Coturnix Quail

Jul 3, 2016