Make sure you chickens stay cool in warm weather- RIP 'tigerlily'

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenmad129, Jul 26, 2014.

1. chickenmad129

chickenmad129 In the Brooder

Jan 16, 2013
    So i'm very new to chickens and only had mine for 3 months but i'm worried about one of my birds (sablepoot/booted bantam) who is not very active when she is still only 14 weeks old. all the other chicks seem to be fine. she is drinking but not eating very much. Recently we have had very hot days and i thought she may have sunstroke?! Her eyes seem to be half open and she falls asleep in the day. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You!![​IMG]

Sadly she passed today as she couldn't cope with the heat as she was so young.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2014
  2. Judy

Judy Crowing Staff Member Premium Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    When they are overheated, they typically stand with their wings slightly away from their body, as if airing out their "armpits," plus breathe with their mouth open. At 100 degrees, chickens are at the top end of their heat tolerance, or so I have read. So yes, this cold well be heat stroke or sunstroke. In hot weather, shade, breeze and a good supply of fresh water are necessities. Every year you will read here of people losing a few chickens to the heat.

People hose down their soil, put ice in drinking water, wet up misters, create primitive air conditioning by blowing air over ice or wet butlap bag, lay frozen soda bottles on the coop floor for them to cuddle up to -- all sorts of strategies. There are lots of threads here about dealing with summer heat.

3. lightchick

lightchick Crowing

Apr 3, 2014
    Minnesota
    x2! I agree with Judy.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2014
  4. chickenmad129

Jan 16, 2013
    Sadly 'tigerlily' passed away about an hour ago however for the who day i watched over her with a fan and gave her water. Poor girl she just couldn't cope with the heat.

5. lightchick