Making stock with venison, question

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by ScoobyRoo, Dec 13, 2009.

1. ScoobyRoo

ScoobyRoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 21, 2008
    Land of OZ
    This is my first time using leg bones from the deer we harvested. There is some bits of fat as well as meat left on them but not much. And the fat is my concern. We always stripped as much fat off the meat as we can when we processed them. Been told that it will have a funny taste. Will this ruin the flavor of the stock? I would hate to put in the effort for a funny tasting stock if there is fat in it.
    What is your experience??

2. PurpleChicken

PurpleChicken Tolerated.....Mostly

Apr 6, 2007
    Iceland
    I don't have any experience with venison stock but I'd say bake it first or brown it well in a pan before boiling it. If you have some beef fat I'd add it. Stock without fat is going to be bland.

3. ScoobyRoo

Aug 21, 2008
    Land of OZ
    I'm roasting it right now till it browns then I will try to break the bones ( I have a butcher block and hammer [​IMG]) Then will add veggie scraps roast some more before adding water. I do have some beef fat that I saved for beef stock. I just may add that to it. Thanks for the idea.

4. PurpleChicken

PurpleChicken Tolerated.....Mostly

Apr 6, 2007
    Iceland
    Henry'schickens :

I'm roasting it right now till it browns then I will try to break the bones ( I have a butcher block and hammer [​IMG]) Then will add veggie scraps roast some more before adding water. I do have some beef fat that I saved for beef stock. I just may add that to it. Thanks for the idea.

Slow cook it until the bones get soft.

Keep us posted on your results. I'm curious.​

5. _Randall_

_Randall_ Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 3, 2009
    Grenada, Ms