Making sure I have enough predetor protection!!!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Lydibid, Nov 9, 2011.

1. Lydibid

Lydibid Out Of The Brooder

Oct 17, 2011
    I'm new to keeping chickens! It has been going great until this past week...I left my chicks outside in a crate in the morning where I checked up on them every hour. When I had gone to check on them, I saw one missing [​IMG]...all that was left was a bloody feather outside the crate and some blood inside the crate. (sorry for being a lil graphic) We think it was a coon because the holes were too small for the chick to be pulled out without being torn apart. (sorry again) I really want to keep the them outside once they get thier feathers for the winter, and I recently ordered a coop that has a run. Would it be enough if I placed the run on top of chicken wire, where the chicken wire lays flat on the ground, and about 2 feet protruding from the cage? This way I figured if anything tried to dig to get in the run, it wouldn't be able to get in there because the bottom has chicken wire. I tried explaining this to my family but they didn't quite get it...let me know if this is too confusing and i'll try to explain it better lol.

2. Pumpkinpup

Pumpkinpup Poultry Princess

Jul 16, 2008
    North-West Georgia
    What sort of coop and run did you order? I had a enclosed run with top and base wire and raccoons still managed to pull it apart and get my flock, ALL of them! I have been chickenless for some time now and will build a Fort Knox Coop this spring and begin again. Good luck but I give you fair warning from personal experience, coons are cunning, clever, strong and very bold and persistant. Think Overkill, is my best advice [​IMG]

3. Lydibid

Oct 17, 2011
    Omgsh really? Thanks for the advice! My coop has an indoor boxed-type coop with a run connected to