Male guinea

Discussion in 'Guinea Fowl' started by m&m chickens, Jul 18, 2011.

1. m&m chickens

m&m chickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2011
    Hartly
    So we "acquired" 2 keets several weeks back, and turns out one of them is a male. I have 3 roosters, and I heard that male guineas and roo's don't get along??? the keets are about the same age as the roosters, and they were all raised together. There is also a female guinea(same age as the male), and 15 hens of different ages in the mix....is it just a "wait and see"? does anyone have any experiences mixing roo's and guineas??

2. Balefire

Balefire Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2011
    Orwigsburg PA
    I'm new to that too. I have ages and 20 chicken and around 5 rooster. I wait what happend. Think if there will be trouble, it would be then next year.
    Think the point is, that the mature males get ugley, when they are not "married". Like in humans life [​IMG]

3. sred98

sred98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    Oklahoma
    I've found that the main trouble is that when the roosters hit puberty, they grab anything with feathers! Including male guineas!! [​IMG] And, let's just say that guineas hold grudges and don't forget things like that! I had to get rid of a rooster because once the guineas got old enough, as soon as one would see him, he'd call all the others and the poor guy had 20 guineas ripping him to shreds! They don't bother my head roo or the girls. They do demand first choice at feeding time, so they charge the chickens and scare them off. But mine roost with the chickens and forage with them.

Since you have a pair of guineas, it shouldn't be a problem. I could see a lone male being more aggressive.

Good luck!

Shelly

4. WestKnollAmy

WestKnollAmy The Crazy Chicken Lady Premium Member

Apr 22, 2008
    upstate SC
    I have 4 full grown roosters free ranging with a grown male Guinea. He so far has been fine with the roos and the roos are fine with him.