Male or Female Peafowl :) & some questions..

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by MissMorgan7817, Feb 10, 2019.

1. MissMorgan7817

MissMorgan7817 In the Brooder

I have a few questions for you experts..I'm a rookie owner! I have 1 peafowl, 5 chickens (females) and 2 ducks (1 female and 1 male) all in the same enclosure. Overall, they all get along really well. Sadly, one of my peafowl was killed by a dog in a freak situation. I am still heartbroken over it :( Thats why I only have 1 peafowl. So the question is...is my peafowl a male or female? It is about 6 months old. And will it do okay without another peafowl? I know its not easy introducing new birds to the flock and I wasn't really wanting to upset everyone by adding someone new..but I totally will if its best for the peafowl. What do you guys think? It lost it's mate 1 month ago. They were raised together and besties. Now it seems to hang out by itself and I do see it perching with the chickens at times which makes me happy. Thanks in advance for all your help!!

Attached Files:

2. AB03Sam

AB03Sam In the Brooder

Dec 30, 2018
    Alberta, Canada
    Your bird looks like a male to me. I have no experience keeping single peafowl. All of mine are kept in groups. I’m sure he would enjoy to have a mate, but I’m not sure if it’s necessary.

MissMorgan7817 likes this.
  3. ABS9590

ABS9590 Songster

Feb 18, 2016
    It's a boy and he would probably very much appreciate some company
    When introducing a new bird, I sneak it onto the perch with everyone else at night and usually don't have any problems

4. MissMorgan7817

Thank you so much, should the female I get him be around his age or does it not matter? He is 7 months.

5. MissMorgan7817

Thank you so much. Should the female I get be around the same age as him? He is 7 months. :)

6. AB03Sam

AB03Sam In the Brooder

Dec 30, 2018
    Alberta, Canada