Mallard or Pekin?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ineed2fly, Mar 17, 2012.

1. ineed2fly

ineed2fly New Egg

Mar 17, 2012
    I've been wanting to get a pet duck for years, and finally going to go ahead and do it, but I'm not sure which would be a better choice. I'd imagine a mallard being a smaller duck is going to be a little bit less messy? But it mainly comes down to whether or not I would want a flighted bird. I'm a paraglider pilot, and would LOVE to be able to fly with my duck. Theres a pilot in Hawaii that rescued a baby mallard after a storm and does exactly that. When the duck gets tired he lands and sits on top of the pilots helmet, pictures attached. The only reason why I wouldn't want a flighted bird is obviously being afraid of it flying away on me. So, is it terribly difficult to train a duck to not fly away? From what I've heard most of the time they imprint and will stay with you. It would just be so sad to lose him. If I got a pekin I could build a harness for him and fly with him (I have friends that do this with dogs) and that would almost be just as special, to take a flightless bird to the skies [​IMG]

Thanks so much!

Nick[​IMG][​IMG]

2. country_girl011

country_girl011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2011
    ohio
    little duck does not mean less mess by any means lol.
    they will be equally messy .
    and ducks ae much happier in pairs.

3. ineed2fly

ineed2fly New Egg

Mar 17, 2012
    Haha, I see, and I'm not opposed to a pair. The main issue is just about what training is required to keep a flighted bird from flying away?

4. QuackerJackFarms

QuackerJackFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2011
    Missouri
    I have mallards and mine have never shown an interest in flying away. A couple times they have gotten a little over-zealous and flown over my house.. but then they realize they're mistake and come running back to me.
    Now I clip their wings once a year to keep them on my side of the fence.