Mama hen stole away with clutch of eggs--newbie here, tips appreciated!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by crazychickenlady55, Jul 11, 2019 at 12:11 PM.

1. crazychickenlady55

crazychickenlady55 In the Brooder

Thursday
    I've had a small flock of chickens for a few years. About ten days ago, I noticed my favorite hen (Polish) had gone missing. I searched for her, but she had disappeared without a trace--not so much as a feather. I continued to look for her, but didn't hold out much hope-- then this morning I found her in the back corner of the barn, under some old boards with a clutch of eggs! I do have an Easter Egger rooster, so there is a good chance they're fertile.

I've never had a hen on a clutch of eggs before. Tonight I am thinking of trying to candle them with a flashlight--I'm reading up on that right now. What steps can I take to make sure that the mama is getting good nutrition and that her new babies are well protected? I have a medium-sized portable chicken coop I was thinking that she could maybe set up shop with her littles in if/when they hatch--it is VERY well constructed and has good ventilation. Or is it a better idea to move her in beforehand? I'm worried that would upset her too much, or that she might abandon her clutch...

I didn't want to upset her too much, but I believe there are approximately ten to twelve eggs--and a couple of them were definitely not hers, I'm thinking she stole a few from one of my Easter Egger hens because two are blue. I'll get a better look tonight. Does anyone have tips or tricks--or pictures of black laced polish x easter eggers? I love the mama to death, she's my favorite hen and very sweet too!

Thank you in advance!

Shadrach and Raenh like this.
  2. AltonaAcres

AltonaAcres Songster

Jan 13, 2019