Mandarins and wood ducks!! Updated with my pics now!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Matapatos, Nov 1, 2009.

1. Matapatos

Matapatos Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2009
    I am in the process of building a pen with the intent of having wood ducks and mandarins. I would like to see pics of your pens and if you have any suggestions, pointers on what to make sure I have, I'd love to hear them! I'm new to raising ducks and I am so excited! The pen is 14'X23'. Thanks!!

I love seeing pics of these beautiful birds and their pens! Thanks again!

Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  2. DuckyBoys

DuckyBoys Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2008
    Colorado
    My aviary is about 45x25. Inside I have 2 pairs of wood ducks, 2 pairs of mandarins and another male mandarin, a trio of calls, and a trio of saxonies. I used to have a lot more ducks in there but I sold them over the summer.

Here are some pictures:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. 1lpoock

1lpoock Spruce Creek Waterfowl

Apr 20, 2009
    Sandusky, Ohio
    I used a greenhouse frame with netting over the top and chicken wire on the ends, also there is two electric wires running around it to schock predators if they get too close. I have also seen other aviaries that are just a wooden frame. Just make sure you have the netting and a sight barrier with whatever style you go with.
    Here are few pics of mine if you havent seen them already...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. bape91

bape91 New Egg

Aug 23, 2009
    Salinas, Ca
    wow that is a nice enclosure for you mandarin ducks, what do you feed them though because my pin does not look nearly as clean as yours does and i feed mine corn from purina mills..

5. 1lpoock

1lpoock Spruce Creek Waterfowl

Apr 20, 2009
    Sandusky, Ohio
    I just feed them a mixture of duck feed and cracked corn....i just put it in a small little trough

6. Matapatos

Jul 12, 2009