Man's best friend, Chickens worst nightmare!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by fancy, Aug 27, 2010.

1. fancy

fancy In the Brooder

Aug 13, 2010
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Just went outside to feed the horse and put the chickens to bed, and lo and behold all 4 of my 6 week old chicks were gone, vanished, no telltale feathers, NOTHING. I thought they must have gotten out of the run somehow so I shook the feed dish and 2 chicks appeared, got them put into coup and went to search for the other two. I saw one of my dogs eating grass, or so I thought. He was eating the EE chick. Looked around for the other dog and she was laying in her favorite spot by the back porch with the other chick between her front legs like she does with her toys. Of course it was dead.

I'm new to chicken keeping and thought I had done my best to keep them safe. It's hard to believe my beloved companions could do this, but they did.

My philosophical husband condolences were that "they were only doing what dogs do." thanks for letting me air my grief.

keeper of the flock (2 dogs, 5 cats, 2 horses, 1BR hen, 1RR, 1 EE, and a husband who doesn't understand)

2. BLaBauve

BLaBauve Songster

Jun 14, 2009
    Georgia
    I'm very sorry! I too love my dogs and my chickens. We have 6 dogs and about 15 chickens. A chicken got loose once and 1 of our dogs grabbed it - the chicken died from shock a day later.

Dogs are dogs. Most of my dogs are fine with my chickens but it took some training on our part. I can now trust most of them with chicks as well as hens. I have lots of pictures on my page of the dogs with the chicks. Just figure out how your dog's got in and fix it. . . and get some more chicks. [​IMG]

I'm sorry for your loss.

3. GrandmaAnn

GrandmaAnn In the Brooder

Aug 19, 2010
    Wisconsin
    I'm so sorry. Hope it works out with your next chicks. I agree with the above post.

4. nzpouter

nzpouter Songster

Jan 19, 2009
    new zealand