Many breeds okay?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by 1lpoock, Apr 20, 2009.

1. 1lpoock

1lpoock Spruce Creek Waterfowl

Apr 20, 2009
    Sandusky, Ohio
    Okay so I ordered 3 different kinds of breeds of ducks due to arrive on May 5th. I have coming: 5 Rouens, 5 Khaki Campbells, and 5 Cayugas. I'm just wondering if they will all do fine together even if they are raised together from day 1. They will be kept in a coop that is 5 feet by 20 feet only at night and for feeding. The whole day they will be out in a big fenced in area. Will they be okay together while they sleep at night. Also I ordered straight run, will the males of one breed mate with the females of another or do the breeds recognize each other as mating pairs. If two different breeds mate will they still kind of look the same or will it be a weird looking duck. Thanks for any answers, I'm new to this, help me out!

2. vfem

vfem Yoga...The Chicken Pose

Aug 4, 2008
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    I think these breeds will be fine together... don't be surprised if you get mixed babies from them though! Also, try to be careful and not over do it with males. You may have to remove extra males if you got too many in ratio to the females (when you can sex them of course!)

3. BeccaOH

BeccaOH Morning Gem Farm

Oct 3, 2008
    east central Ohio
    My duckings come this week. [​IMG] I ordered a trio of Welsh Harlequin (one male), 2 Khaki Campbells, and 2 Cayugas. I only got the one male and only plan to separate him for breeding to the WH girls. I'll let them all live together most of the year and they will do fine, but they will cross breed if allowed (I'm sure, but I'm still new [​IMG]).

ETS: my neighbor put 2 drakes with her 4 females and the competition in mating got out of hand in her opinion. The females were pretty battered.

Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  4. 1lpoock

Apr 20, 2009
    Sandusky, Ohio