Maran colors & eggs?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by MomMommyMamma, Nov 8, 2010.

1. MomMommyMamma

MomMommyMamma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    West Virginia
    There is a local person offering some coocoo maran hens. Do all marans lay the dark brown eggs reguardless of their feather color? We have some French Black Copper Marans in the bator right now but I'm new to marans. When I searched for images on Google I get what looks a lot like barred rocks - is this correct? Not sure since Google notes "related search: barred rock). Any one have a pic of a coocoo they can post?
    I've never purchased grown birds before - does $10 for a 6 mo. old hen sound fair?
    Thank you so much! [​IMG]

2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

A lot depends on the line that you get. If they're from a hatchery they probably won't lay much darker than a normal brown egg layer. I had a line that laid very dark eggs, but they were one of the breeding flocks I sold.....stupid, stupid, stupid. Cuckoo Marans look similar to a BR, but their barring is much messier looking.

3. Steve_of_sandspoultry

Steve_of_sandspoultry Overrun With Chickens

The best thing going for the Cuckoo's is they aren't all that popular and haven't been mixed and matched as much as the other types. Like Katy said I haven't heard any good things about hatchery Cuckoo's either. It pays to do some research and see what you are getting, ask to see the eggs that they are laying now. That will tell you alot. The longer they lay the lighter in color the eggs will get. $10 is a very good price for a bird from a good line if it's mixed or doesn't have good shell color then not.

Steve

4. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    I believe the fact that they spelled it CooCoo Marans says they're hatchery stock, and lay terrible egg color.

5. MomMommyMamma

Jun 13, 2010
    West Virginia