Maran possible egg blockage ?? URGENT HELP needed

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by PatriotShar, Nov 19, 2017.

1. PatriotShar

PatriotShar Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2017
    If there is already a thread on this I apologize. I'm a newbie at raising chickens AND this site

I have a white maran that is lethargic, wasn't eating or drinking & keeps laying her head to right & closing eyes. She also is not crowing like she did ... a weak crowing now? She is about 4-5 mos old & should have started laying but has not.
    I have another black americanas that should also be laying & is not? I have an older black americanas that WAS laying & just stopped about 6-8 weeks ago now ??

My 1st concern is my white maran. I was told that she may have an egg blocked ? I gave her a warm bath, poured a little oil over her port (which was moving & I could feel something hard around it) & then isolated her in a nesting box w towel draped over entry. I really expected to get up next am & find her dead :( but when I took her out (no egg) & put her in front of food she began eating (bread & apple sauce) & drinking was walking around. When I picked her up ... she didn't feel hard or mushy in her stomach & I didn't feel the hardness in the back. But when I went back she was just sitting on ground w head turned & eyes closed again? I have isolated her becos I had to leave for couple of days. She ate & drank water. When I would ck on her (several times before leaving) she was again head turned & eyes closed on ground. I thought each time she was dead but when I would talk to her she would open her eyes. I'm heading home ... will I find her dead ?? I hope not. But what if she has not passed the egg?

I don't know what else to do & being on fixed income w cancer ... I don't have funds for vet :'(