Marek's - I'm so confused

msyfoopoo

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jan 12, 2014
North Chicagoland
Small Flock of 16, 12 hens 1-7 years old, 3 9-wk old pullet, 1 5-wk old cockerel.

Chicagoland IL USA

Sick Hen (4yo??) down for 2.5 weeks. Favored left foot (limp) at first, and laying down often (like to eat grass or scratch). Crated her. Now she lays down 95% of the time while crated. Was eating normal until yesterday. Still grooms, is perky, coos/talks, still laying, etc.... She is thin, and crop last night was soft/squishy, and has dark diarrhea (not watery) since crated, hot here so not sure if panting is heat or breathing difficulties. I'm scared it is Marek's, but just don't know what my next step should be. Everything read says that my entire flock is now infected if she does have Marek's. I have no knowledge of whether any of my birds have had the Marek's vaccine.

Do I get a blood test? Do I give supplements and Worm in case it isn't Marek's? All previously sick hens (other issues) looked sick.... this hen does not look sick, she just favors the left foot and is off balance. Wings are still tucked up, and head held up when standing. She has pecked my doxie when she gets too close to her crate. Will she for sure die of Marek's within a few weeks? Will all birds in my flock die from Marek's? Bio security is not the best. I have not heard of Anyone with Marek's around here.

I would appreciate any help from those experienced in diagnosis of Marek's or other problems that masquerade as Marek's. I will try to make a video of her and post here.

Thanks, Nan

Mareks is only diagnosed by a necropsy.
Have you looked at the bottom of her feet...and her legs real feel to see if there is any bumble foot or injuries?

Can you post pics of her poop too.
Do you offer your chickens a complete chicken feed or just scratch?
Have you ever had their poop tested by a local vet for worms?
Or ever treated for worms before?

Hi