Marek's? Should I cull? I'd like to resolve tonight if possible...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by LoriC, Oct 23, 2013.

1. LoriC

LoriC Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2012
    Twin Falls, Idaho
    Let me preface by saying I'm a bit of a newbie with this. I just started raising chickens last summer....

I noticed tonight that one of my chicken's had two different colored eyes. This chicken is also looking quite ratty, but I attributed that to moulting. Upon googling I found that Marek's can be the cause of the eye problem. When I caught her and looked at her more closely, I do see that her pupil is smaller and cloudy, and the eye is definitely a different color. She's got a lot of new feathers coming in, but she is just covered in dander.

Earlier this summer I had a chick that developed a problem with it's leg. He could not walk on it, but it didn't seem to be in any pain. I actually took it to a vet, and no break was detected. The leg has since gotten better, and that chick is thriving.

This hen was one of 6 that I got from someone on Craiglist. I never actually met the person - they put the chickens in boxes and put them in the bed of my truck at the feedstore where I had agreed to meet her. I thought that was kind of odd, and got very worried when I got the chickens home and saw how ratty they were. I texted her and she claimed they were not ill, but just henpecked. They improved a lot over last summer, and I haven't had any problems.

Putting the info together, I'm close to convinced that the hen has Marek's. However, before I cull her, I would like a second opinion before I put her down. Here are some pictures of her.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 23, 2013
  2. LoriC

LoriC Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2012
    Twin Falls, Idaho
    Some additional photos:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. ten chicks

ten chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2013
    MB,Canada