Mariah & Kylie - my pekin ducklings!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by toowoombapekins, Jan 2, 2014.

1. toowoombapekins

toowoombapekins Out Of The Brooder

Dec 26, 2013
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Hey everyone,

I'm Darren, I live in Toowoomba, Australia. I'm new to ducks and new to the forum.

I have been keen on adopting a couple of ducklings for a couple of years now. After a lot of research and careful consideration, I finally took the plunge and picked up a couple of pekin ducklings from a poultry breeder. After some discussion my g/f (Karen) and I decided to choose 2 females as we haven't got the room to accommodate an entire family of ducklings and apparently 2 drakes can get a bit territorial, so we opted for 2 females. The ducklings were a week old when we picked them up on the 21st of December.

It didn't take us long to name them based on their own very different individual personalities. Karen & I love our music so the names were naturally going to be singers names. One of the girls has a high pitch wail (for the entire hour long trip back home in the car!). She also had a bit of an attitude, so named her 'Mariah' after Mariah Carey who is well known for the same attributes. The other one was lighter in colour, she chirps away and is a little more submissive in character. So we named her 'Kylie' after Aussie singstress Kylie Minogue - anyone familiar with Kylie M would know she is blonde, fairly quietly spoken and was dubbed the 'singing budgie' so we thought it suited. :)