Mauled chicken - broken wing bone, skin gone muscle exposed

Nov 8, 2019
I’m a newbie. One year. 4 chickens to 17. 2 large pens with fenced chicken yard. Area includes some woods. Red shouldered hawk attacked chicken during yard time. I sprayed her down to find all wounds. 2 gashes in neck. 3 in shoulder. Wing was shred to bone. Muscle tore up, top wing bone broken. Ine leg immobile, other weak. I’ve tended to it 3x a day now for a week. She is in my basement in a make shift hospital pen. Now that her legs have regained strength if I don’t wrap her feet up she pulls out of bandaging. She loves when it’s time to be unwrapped and sprayed. How long do I keep spraying and wrapping her wing.

Attachments

• 77F03F66-7739-4288-B52B-5CDA61B341C6.jpeg
    77F03F66-7739-4288-B52B-5CDA61B341C6.jpeg
    517.5 KB · Views: 157
Thank you. The vet out here will not take chickens. I checked before I ever bought chickens. Out here people would have just shot the chicken, Or they would let the hawk finish her. So I’m doing my best with wrapping her and spraying it 3x a day to keep away infection. I don’t know how healed it can get given how badly mauled it is. Anyone know when to stop wrapping it.

The spraying...hydrotherapy...can be very helpful if she loves it...the spray like you get from a little sink sprayer can stimulate blood flow and aid healing. Silvadene cream can be helpful in keeping infection under control and help healing by second intention...the filling in and scarring over of missing tissue, Telfa pads are good non-stick dressings if you can keep them on. Exposed bone is prone to infection, but you seem to have kept her happy enough for a week.