Maybe a stupid ? bout roosters

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dr8goons, Jun 10, 2008.

1. dr8goons

dr8goons Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2008
    VA
    I'm new to the whole chicken thing im actuly hatching my first set of chicks now and it got me thinking about rooster this might be a stupid question but you never know till you ask lol. I odered eggs and when i did i got diffrant breeds to see which i like my question is, can one rooster fertilize diffrant breeds? or do i need a rooster of each breed?
    thanks

2. flock-mama

flock-mama Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2008
    Bayfield colorado
    A rooster will mate with any breed! Several times a day! They aren't picky just as long as there are hens around. [​IMG]

3. CUDA

CUDA Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2008
    Michigan
    Roosters will try to mate with any bird that is their general size, like pheasant, guinea, geese, etc... lol

4. MayberrySaint

MayberrySaint Chillin' Out

Mar 7, 2007
    Mount Airy, NC
    I actually see one of my roosters prefer other breeds...must be that old adage..."opposites attract".

5. FLchook

FLchook Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2007
    Orlando, Florida
    Since when is a male picky [​IMG]:lol:

Barnyard specials area always my favorite! I love to see what kind of baby your going to get when you start crossing breeds. Sometimes it looks like one of the parents, sometimes its somethink completly different.

6. Nichole77

Nichole77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2007
    Arizona
    I just got a mental visual of a banty roo trying to mate with a pigeon.

7. CUDA

CUDA Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2008
    Michigan
    You ought to see a banty rooster try to top a standard sized hen, it is a riot! If he can get a hold of her, he will get on top, but can't really reach anything, and while he is trying, the hen will get up and walk around with him trying to get his business done...lol

8. Chickenaddict