1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Maybe I'm just a nervous nellie.....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Poultra, Feb 1, 2009.

1. Poultra

Poultra Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2008
    ...but I'll let you experts decide.

Ok, here's what I've got. This is my first attempt at hatching. I made a still air bator based on Miss Prissy's instructions. I set ten of my own eggs in there on 1/12 at 6pm so I'm figuring day 21 starts at 6pm tonight, yes? I had the temp at 100-102 the first 18 days with humidity at 37-38% and stopped turning after day 18, temp the same, and added another water dish to up humidity. Yesterday, the humidity had only gone up to about 56% so I tried adding more water to the dishes using a tube through one of the vent holes. It didn't do much. I tried again this morning this time trickled a bit on the floor of the bator to see if that would work. Yup, worked just fine - it's now reading 73%. I was going for about 65% - so would 73% be too high or is that ok? Now here is where I'm going to sound like a nervous nellie - I've done searches on here and it seems like everyone has a different number that they swear by. I'm also seeing posts that say their eggs are pipping on day 20 (or 19 even) and I'm not seeing pippage yet. Being at work at the moment isn't helping. I'm trying not to call home too often to bug DH about looking at them to see if anything is happening. So am I doing everything right and need to sit tight and be patient or should I take out a water dish or...? I've been good about not opening the lid the last couple days, too.

Just you wait - I'll get home tonight and there'll be pips, just because I posted this.....

2. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV