mealworm

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by erkose, Sep 19, 2018.

1. I ask for patience-and this maybe already answered I cant find it
    I started growing meal worms 2 days ago(18th September 2018 in Australia)
    yesterday I notice flies(common house fly in the box-air holes too big )
    now covered in some sort of cloth will allow air

will any common fly lava heart the meal worms?
    my seller dose not know
    any help appreciated Nigel

2. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Free Ranging

Hi there. :frow

Meal worms can be so much fun! :wee

What is your growing medium and what are you using as a hydration source?

I've been raising meal worms for almost a couple years, never has a fly or their larva be an issue YET. And I've faced ants, moths, and a few grain mites. Even a rodent when I tried keeping them outside. And if they don't have enough moisture they will use each other or the pupa if they are present. :hmm

That being said, I recently discovered that flies are specifically attracted to apple when researching homemade fly traps... in addition to facing fruit flies if I tried to use that. So maybe the house fly was attracted to your hydration source? In which case I would simply switch it out before letting anything POSSIBLY hatch. But again that has never happened.

To answer your question... I do NOT believe a house fly or larva are a danger to your meal worms.

@azygous Can you share your experience or thoughts... since I believe you know things things up close and personal? (snort!) :p:gig

3. tremendous answer-deeply appreciated
    changing carrot now
    to apple
    deepest thanks

4. azygous

azygous Free Ranging

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    One time I found a strange cocoon in with my meal worms. I posted a photo and was told it was probably a moth that had snuck into the tray. It never morphed into anything.