Mean baby Wyandottes?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sarahsc0tt, Jul 18, 2011.

1. sarahsc0tt

sarahsc0tt Out Of The Brooder

Jun 13, 2011
    Central Valley
    Hello ...

I have recently started my second flock of chickens after my first one was destroyed by some predator. It is mostly Laced Wyandottes and a few Silkies. The baby Wyandottes are 4 days old and they are MEAN. They hate me and they bite every time I stick my hand in the cage to feed, water or hold--in an attempt to socialize--them. My first flock were Easter Egg/Ameraucana's and never bit once, even the rooster. I get bit by my 3 month Silkie rooster sometimes but only when he's hungry. Since I'm a beginner and this is my first time with Wyandotte's I am wondering if this is normal. One little Silver Laced is particularly nippy. I'm a bit disheartened by this. Of course these chickens will be "working" animals as providers of eggs and (eventually) meat and my Silkies satisfy all the "pet chicken" urges I may harbor but I expected them to be a little more friendly. Why do they bite? They are so young and I'm very gentle and quiet around them. They are such little things but they bite hard! Is this normal for Wyandottes? I did research and thought they were normally docile. My chicks came from an excellent and 100% trusted source. Will they grow out of it or should I just prepare myself for a future of nasty, nippy chickens? Thank you!

- SS

2. RedDrgn

RedDrgn Anachronistic Anomaly

May 11, 2011
    West Virginia
    My Coop