"Mean Girls"

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Miss Pearl, Aug 14, 2013.

1. Miss Pearl

Miss Pearl Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2013
    I am new to raising chickens. I have 3 Barred Rocks that are a year old. I bought 3 more 5 months ago and added them to the hen house last month. I really had a hard time integrating the new girls with the older girls. The older girls just intimidate the heck out of the younger ones. Unfortunately I lost my first chicken (one of the younger) 2 weeks ago, and yesterday I lost a second (also one of the younger). I free range them only when I'm outside and can watch them. I went inside both times for less than 15 minutes and a coyote got them. Now the surviving younger one is scared to death of the older girls and is all alone in the yard. At night the older girls run her out of the coop and she has to sleep at the very end of the roost by herself. They are at the the opposite end all snugged up together. I just hate "mean girls", don't you? I need advise as to what to do. Should I try to find another chicken her age, size, and/or breed to be her BFF? And how do I make the others like her and be more inclusive of her?

2. Rich386

Rich386 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 21, 2011
    Live Oak, FL
    I believe you made a major mistake. Before introducing new hens they should be separated but where they can see each other. The new hens are intruders and are usually not readily accepted into the flock.

3. Rich386

Jul 21, 2011
    Live Oak, FL
    I believe you made a major mistake. Before introducing new hens they should be separated but where they can see each other. The new hens are intruders and are usually not readily accepted into the flock.

4. Miss Pearl

Miss Pearl Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2013