mean muscovies?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ringaring, Jan 14, 2013.

1. ringaring

ringaring Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 14, 2013
    I hear Muscovies are broody - which is what I need, but, I also understand they are mean tempered. Can anyone with Muscovies describe their temperament? I have 1 Mallard and 9 blue runners - clowns! They are a friendly little group and I'd like to keep it that way. I'm new at this.

2. Frank Phinster

Frank Phinster Chillin' With My Peeps

I have a breeding Muscovy right now, and yes, she is mean. She chases my Runners around when she is not on her nest, espeacially when they are near the shed where she has her nest but doesn't bite or beat them up. That's more the style of my Muscovy drake.

3. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Chillin' With My Peeps

My friend has Muscovies, and they bully the chickens, chase the dogs. Ducks and drakes. They will put on quite a head-bobbing and hissing show for any humans that chase them, but when it comes down to it they'll run. They love FOOD. And they don't bite humans at all (I literally caught a whole bunch for slaughter and was fine, just watch those claws, they're BIG), but I've seen them bite the chickens' tail feathers to scare them off.

4. Muscovynmore

Muscovynmore Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2012
    NC
    I've had . . . meh, a couple hundred or so Muscovies over the last few years. The closest thing to mean has been mating season (duck/duck fights) or some of the nesting mothers. I have been "attacked" once, which was when a hormone-filled drakelet tried to bite my shoes (at which point I shoved him away, laughing, and he came to his senses). Muscovies are generally laid-back and much, much friendlier than the quacks I have.