Meat and Layer hen- good all-purpose breed?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by ejcate, Apr 3, 2009.

1. ejcate

ejcate Out Of The Brooder

Apr 3, 2009
    I live in New Hampshire.
    I have been raising layers for a few years now (only 3 hens per year).
    I wanted to branch into raising meat hens as well.

After reading several threads on the messiness of raising the two kinds of birds together, I am rethinking.

Someone mentioned "all-purpose" breeds that can be raised as layers and for meat.

What are some good all-purpose breeds?
    At what age would each start laying? and at what age is best to slaughter for meat (before the meat gets too tough and only good for stewing)?

Thank you!

2. ejcate

Apr 3, 2009
    The Orpingtons look like a nice dual-purpose breed.
    I read that they start laying around 6 months old, yielding 1 egg every 2-3 days.
    How can you tell when they have reached a good slaughtering weight? On average how long do they take to reach this weight?
    I am planning on moving this fall/winter. So my optimal plan would be to buy 6 hens that are just beginning to lay, have them lay all summer and into fall, and plan to slaughter them in late fall.
    Which would mean I would get them at around 6 months old, and they would be a little over a year old when I plan to slaughter them.

Would this yeild good quality meat? Or are they too young or too old?

If they are too young- perhaps getting all NH Reds would be better, because according to your chart the reds are "very early maturing" while the orpingtons are "moderately early maturing".

Thanks for your thoughts!

3. Mrs.Puff

Mrs.Puff Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2008
    Southern Iowa
    One of my friends has sussex as dual purpose gals. I have two of them. They lay regularly, medium sized brown eggs, and they are FAT. They chow down, and have large breasts and good flavored meat.

4. scooter147

scooter147 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2008
    Missouri