1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Meat Chick 6 days old

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by MeatKing, Sep 14, 2009.

1. MeatKing

MeatKing Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi everyone this is my first time getting chickens, right now there in a great big oval box. with 2 waterers and one feeder(30 chicks). Some of them are sitting on the feeder and pooping in it. Went out this morn, and it was filled with shavings and poop. is this because there's no roust (sorry can't spell it) their only 6 days old... thought thay'd be to young to do this? Should i find a nice stick to out in there for them to sit on?
    Also what is the proper way to clean the feeder? I'm thinking hot soapy water, than let it air dry, really well... Didn't do this this moring cause they were starving and wanting more food,,, So I emptied the shaving and took just a dry rag and took the poop out (there was just two piles after dumping it) Wonder if I should put a second feeder in there?
    Thanks everyone, would love to hear any feed back.....

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Put the feeder up on a brick or something; they will not kick so many shavings into it. Keep it up at the height of their back. No, they don't really need a roost. Cornish X usually won't roost anyway. Two feeders would probably be a good idea for that many chicks.

3. MeatKing

MeatKing Chillin' With My Peeps

Thank-you so much. Great idea, going to look for a brick or something, and going to go to store to buy a second feeder. Have a great day!

4. jaku

jaku Chillin' With My Peeps