Meat chickens

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by andrewto, Jan 22, 2017.

1. andrewto

andrewto New Egg

Jan 22, 2017
    On our farm we have an old hog barn that we don't use anymore it was just sitting empty until last year when I put 25 chickens in it to be raised for meat. It worked ok and now we are thinking of getting more to put in there this summer. The barn has heat and a few fans to control temperature it has a slotted floor for the waste to fall through. There are 10 pens each is about 5x10 feet and last year the chickens stayed it the pens and didn't fly out. I am new to raising chickens so my friend helped me out this year I will do it myself. Here are some questions I have.
    What feed should I use?
    What breeds would be the best for me? Last year I had Cornish crosses. I think
    Ways to reduce costs?
    Do I need some sort of bedding?
    Do I need to let them out to roam around?

2. seanengler

seanengler Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2010
    Central Coast, CA
    Feed-It depends on the breed. If you do some reading you will find most people doing 20-24% starter and stepping it down a few percent every couple weeks from there. For example I am doing Freedom Rangers and from the information I gathered in the meat bird forums, I've got them on 24% starter for 3 weeks, after which I plan on bumping them to 19-20% grower feed and eventually to 16-18% grower feed. Once you decide on a breed, then decide on feed.

Breeds-it depends on your personal preference. A LOT of people raise cornish crosses on here and have great experiences. I however do Freedom Rangers because they're a little slower growing and are less prone to leg problems and I have a slight slope in the pasture I raise them on, so I figured the less leg issues the better.