Medicated Feed/Coccidiosis Question

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by ashsmith, Jul 3, 2010.

1. ashsmith

ashsmith Out Of The Brooder

Jun 8, 2010
    I am a newbie to chicken keeping, and I have a few questions about coccidiosis and would appreciate any feedback y'all can provide.

My chicks are currently 8 weeks old and have been on Purina Medicated Star & Grow since they hatched. They have never been vaccinated.

I understand that medicated feed is useless if the chicks aren't exposed to coccidiosis, but how do I know if they've been exposed? They do have access to an outdoor run during the day. The run was grass but is now mostly dead grass and dirt. Chickens have never been in the run until I got my chicks 2 months ago, so I'm not sure if they have been exposed to coccidiosis. I do have lots of birds in my yard (mainly doves and jays).

Here's my question: Is coccidiosis present is most dirt naturally, or is it only present in dirt that chickens have grazed on? Considering that wild birds have been in my yard, can I assume that coccidiosis is present in my dirt?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Cocci is always in dirt. Then when you add chickens, it'll be in the dirt even more. Chicks can still get cocci even if they're taking medicated chick starter. A really good environment for cocci to thrive in is a hot, humid, wet environment, + chicken poo, of course. Cocci is always there, but these weather conditions can really make it run wild.

I did have some chicks get cocci this spring, just before summer. It was raining ALOT, so the dirt was pretty muddy, and it was also hot and humid. I had just put some 8 week old chicks out in my a-frame coop. I went out one morning to feed/water and saw some blood dots in the poo. So I medicated them immediately, and I didn't lose any. I was very lucky.