medicated feed with ducklings?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by mandolinmama, Apr 5, 2009.

1. mandolinmama

mandolinmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2007
    Urbana Missouri
    I'm almost out of my game bird starter feed. I have a LOT of chick starter that is medicated for coccidiosis. I know that I've read that medicated feed is a huge no-no for ducklings. Why is that?

I know. My bad for not getting more feed for my duckling kiddos before Sunday when the feed store is closed. [​IMG] Lesson learned.

What else can I give them in a pinch should they empty their feeder today????

Thanks so much guys. I'm new to ducklings now that I've semi-matered chickens. You guys rock![​IMG]

2. jvls1942

jvls1942 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2008
    wausau,wisconsin
    I would not feed the medicated feed.. None of the instructions say "do not feed unless you have to.."

feed them oatmeal or cornmeal for a day..

3. ChickenToes

ChickenToes Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2008
    NE Wisconsin
    The reason you shouldn't feed medicated feed to ducklings is because ducklings eat a lot more than chicks and could overdose on the medication in the feed.

I agree with jvls, give them oatmeal. You can also feed them Cheerios, chopped spinach, and plain yogurt.

4. mandolinmama

mandolinmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2007
    Urbana Missouri
    Thanks you guys. That helps more than you know. I honestly don't know how people evey try to start out with chickens, ducks, or goats without the people from BYC. This is a fantastic wealth of information. [​IMG]

Thanks again!

5. jvls1942

jvls1942 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2008
    wausau,wisconsin
    Quote:interesting thread, but for me it is way simpler to just not feed medicated.. for example, I have already forgotten which meds are OK and which are not.. and besides none of the meds are beneficial to ducks.

6. goosedragon

goosedragon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Central NC